In about an hour, I’ll be getting on the road and heading down to Washington, DC to join 6,000 of my closest friends for the URJ Biennial Convention.  I can’t wait! This will be my 7th Biennial, I think, the first being when I was a senior in high school.

I have to admit, the magic that I experienced then–not just seeing thousands of people gathered for a common purpose, but thousands of Reform Jews gathered for the purpose of exploring and engaging in Reform Judaism.  As I’ve said to many people over the years, there is simply nothing like the experience of singing the Sh’ma with thousands of others.

And it’s moments like this where my inner extrovert thrives (I’m generally an introvert with some extrovert tendencies).  I love having so many people from my life together in one place! And having the opportunity to meet new people–make new friends–with like minded people.  And, while I’ve had the chance in earlier years to meet people in person at Biennial whom I had only known of, or had a phone relationship with through work.  But this year, that aspect is so much greater.

With the advent of social networking, there are many people that I know virtually.  That I talk with on twitter and share with on facebook.  People I’ve laughed with and learned from.  People who have given me great insights at times and great support at others.  It’s hard to express how much I’m looking forward to taking the social networking that I do anyway off line.

And to be able to share the experience with those who can’t make it this year, by posting here and on facebook and twitter.

Biennial, here I come…

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Comments are closed.