Even before today started with Shehechyanu, I knew it was going to be a good day.  But that sealed it.  Today was the first time the staff of the temple  the was all present (our shalichah arrived last week), and we spent the morning and a good chunk of the afternoon planning the year.  Talking about bigger issues that we never have time to cover during the weekly staff meetings.  Brainstorming a bit about new ideas.  Sharing our wisdom and experience and creative energy to plan the year.

And we started with the blessing that’s there to express our joy that we’ve arrived at this moment.  Very few bad days, I believe, start with that particular blessing.  I think starting that way gives us the chance to be mindful of the joy of the moment…and also reminds us to choose to live a particular experience in a positive way.

A few weeks ago (just under a month), I started this job.  As I entered the temple on my first day, I took a moment to say Shehecheyanu.  As an honoring of that particular moment.  But I realized that for that particular moment, it wasn’t enough.  Some beginnings require more.  So, I offered my own blessing.  It was a silent prayer at that moment, and it’s been percolating in my mind until now.  I actually decided then to consider it and compose it and use it for this very blog post.

So here is my blessing for the first day of work:

Thank You God, for my getting here.

Through the windy road and sometimes rocky path, thank You for giving me the courage, and the patience and the confidence in myself and my abilities to get me to this time and this place.

Thank You for friends and family and teachers and students and colleagues and mentors, who all believed in me and supported me and challenged me and gave me more than they realize…all of them helped me to get here.

And thank You for the experience that has prepared me for this new opportunity.

May this place be a holy place for me, and may I have the ability to make it even moreso.

May I learn, and grow, and achieve, and see much success.

May I have many opportunities to be both student and teacher.  May I enjoy the people around me, and may we have many opportunities to touch each others’ lives–to learn each others’ stories and share each others’ wisdoms.  May we laugh, and learn, and cry, and grow, and laugh some more.

May I stand up to the challenges, and seek help when I need it, and allow myself to step towards greatness.

May I learn from every moment, and appreciate both the small ones and the big ones.

Thank you, God.  For giving me so much to learn, and so many opportunities, throughout my life.  And especially today.

 

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

One response »

  1. BZKoppel@aol.com says:

    Will read tomorrow. Pls can you change my email to gmail so I can continue to receive your blogs… thx! Please note that my preferred email address is now BZKoppel949@gmail.com – thank you!

    On our way to Boston in the morning, back Sun. night. Noah’s party Sat. Will miss you there. Love you – very much. xo Barbara / Mom and Dad

    * * * * * * * *

Leave a Reply

