• 1 day until I fly back east to be with my family for the seders
  • 2 days until I get to eat real a real NY bagel and a slice of pizza
  • 3 days until the seder
  • 4 days until the second seder
  • 5 days until I fly back here
  • 6 days until I get to do some Pesach cooking with some really cool people
  • 7 days until Shabbat
  • 8 days until the Machar Seder
  • 9 days until I don’t have something on my calendar
  • 10 days until the last day of Pesach (at least on the Reform calendar)

Phew.  I’m exhausted already.  And not exactly feeling free from my calendar.  We spend so much time counting down to things.  And paying attention to what’s coming next.  Perhaps all this counting is a reminder of the fact that I need to enjoy the moment, too.

It’s so easy to get caught up in counting…how many people have looked at this blog, what’s my Klout score, who is on my friend’s list, how many followers do I have, how much longer until what’s next on my schedule, and what do I have on my calendar tomorrow? And forget that maybe it’s not the numbers we should focus on.  

It’s more important to know not how many people were there (wherever there happens to be), but how the experience was for each of them.  How can we create moments that count instead of just counting moments.

My challenge to myself, as I enter Shabbat and the coming days: even as I count down each day, and even as I am aware of what’s next, how do I create this moment as one that really matters?

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi, with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

One response »

  1. Kat says:

    I feel so much the same way. I feel like so much of my time is spent trying to cram a bunch of things into a space of time too small. I love that you wrote about this. I think this is too frequent that most of us don’t know how to just stop and be in the moment we’re in.
    Thank you for this post. 🙂
    Kat

Leave a Reply

