One of my favorite things about social networking, is its potential as a vast, and ever growing, source of knowledge. 

It has become a very useful tool for me to learn about what’s happening in the world, get ideas, become inspired, get suggestions, and even just gain simple knowledge about something I have yet to learn about.

It is for this reason that I love to ask questions on facebook.  Whether I need practical information (recommendations for the best place to go locally to fill some need), input on a dilemma, ideas for teaching, finding someone who will remember something that I’m unsuccessfully trying to remember, or even sermon fodder, social media is a helpful tool for finding answers.

But some of my favorite questions to ask are those that are there for the sake of discussion.  Questions to which there are many answers, none of which are truly right or wrong. But by engaging in a conversation–across the globe and with people from myriad backrounds–I’m able to know what some of those answers could be.

Even better is when a simple question sparks such a conversation.  Or serves as a vehicle for people to talk about it away from a screen.  And people add even more knowledge–veering away from the intended path, perhaps, but only helping the conversation grow.

It’s almost like existing in a page of Talmud–different voices expressing different views.  Conversations going in new directions.  Agreement and disagreement and everything in between.  And, so often, new knowledge to discover.

 

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

