Suffice to say, I was a LOST fan. I could probably dedicate an entire blog as to what I mean by that, but for now what matters is that I really enjoyed the show and I got a lot out of it.  I think the show contained many important questions and a lot of wisdom.

Of the many truths explored on the show is encompassed in the simple phrase, “Don’t tell me what I can’t do.”  A phrase used 17 times over the course of the series, with a bit of variation at times:

I think the power of the idea is best expressed when Locke says to Jack in The Hunting Party, “Who are we to tell anyone what they can or can’t do?” (0:48 on the video)

Indeed, we have no right to define the limitations of others.

And we do not need to listen to others when they try to tell us what our own limitations are.

It is our sacred obligation to push those boundaries–those of ourselves and those of others.  To expand rather than limit.  To encourage others and ourselves to aspire for what we may be able to do.  And ignore the voices that chide us, the voices around us and the voices within, that try to tell us what we can’t do.

We all have abilities beyond what we can imagine.  We all can achieve so much more than we think.   May we all move towards the fringes of what we dream is possible in the year to come.  And may we all help those around us, inspiring them to do the same.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi, with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

