I am not a morning person.  This should come as no surprise to anyone who has met me.  I generally set multiple alarms to get up.  This used to mean the use of a variety of devices–but now that it’s all on my smart phone, I just set several different alarms.  Back when I actually used an alarm clock, the snooze button was my friend.  And, there have been periods of my life when I’d make sure that one of the alarms that I set was put in a place that required me to get up to turn it off.  Ultimately, there’s the one final alarm that gets me up–at the time that I know I really have to get going.

Thinking about all that, it makes sense the way the shofar service is structured on Rosh Hashnah.  Just like different alarms I’m setting have different sounds or different songs, the shofar has different notes that are played.  Just like I need multiple alarms, we have 3 different parts of the shofar service.  And just like I need to physically get up in order to really wake up, we rise when we hear the shofar sounded.  

Physically waking up can be hard.  Spiritually waking up can be even harder.  We need the shofar to call us a few times in order to get ourselves up and get ourselves ready for the new year–for the people we will be in this year to come.

So when we come to the tekiah g’dolah–the ultimate shofar call–the one we’re all really waiting for–the one that really awakens us…

what will it be waking you up for?

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi, with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

