Thank you so much to my dear friend and fellow Jewish professional Lisa Friedman for nominating me for a Sunshine Award!! I have known Lisa for a long time (I won’t say how many years), but it’s only within the past several years that we’ve become close, and I now consider her one of my closest friends and most valued colleagues.  She is an amazing educator, and her work as an advocate and activist with the special needs population is inspiring. Seriously, read her blog.  Get to know her work.  Get to know her.

So, she was nominated for a Sunshine Award and nominated me in turn.  To quote Lisa (who is, I believe, quoting the person that nominated her):

A Sunshine Award is an opportunity for readers to learn more about the nominated blogger (that’s me!) and provides an opportunity to highlight fellow bloggers who he/she feels make a significant contribution to the blogging community.

Here are the rules (as listed on Zachary’s blog):

  1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger (Thanks again, Zachary!).
  2. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  4. List 11 bloggers. They should be bloggers you believe deserve some recognition and a little blogging love!
  5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated. (You cannot nominate the blogger who nominated you.)

I’m beyond honored.  And it’s a good way to get back to posting.  So, here I go:

11 Facts (some of which are recycled from an earlier facebook facts about me post)

1. I broke my leg before I could walk, and therefore learned to walk fairly late.  Apparently, after I got the cast off, I continued to crawl for several weeks dragging my leg behind me.

2. I started going to camp when I was 10.  The fall before, I had announced to my parents that I was going to go to camp that summer.  Needless to say, I was clearly a camp person from the start.

3. I’ve never seen The Godfather.

4. I lived at the Kutz Camp for 2 full years (as in, throughout the year). That time included at least 1 huge blizzard–I literally couldn’t leave my cabin for a day and a half.

5. I have friends throughout the world, some of whom I’ve met through the wonders of social networking.  I have not met all of them face to face, and yet I treasure their friendships.  Others, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and it’s only enhanced the friendships.  I even travelled half way around the world to hang out with one of them for a couple of weeks and have hosted several of them in my home

6. I was once paid 50 sheqels to eat the rest of the wasabi on my plate (best money I’ve ever earned…also led to the best sip of beer I’ve ever tasted).

7. When I was younger, I had straight hair.  I wanted nothing more than curly hair, and even had perms in junior high and high school.  When I reached my 30’s, my hair changed and I now have curly hair.

8. I have a list of foods that I just won’t eat. While I’m a pescitarian, I’m not talking about meat. And while I keep kosher, I’m not talking about treif. I’m talking about the foods that I don’t like enough that I sometimes pretend I’m allergic, and I quite simply will not eat. The list includes: almonds, coconut, mushrooms, and bananas.

9. Pesach is my favorite holiday.

10. I love book stores.  I can easily spend hours wandering through them and browsing.  I was very sad to see Border’s go–mainly because I appreciate how they hired and trained staff who could answer questions about books and help guide you towards what you were looking for (and I say that as a former employee, who knows what their expectations were).  You just don’t get that at Barnes and Noble.

11. I love the New York Times crossword puzzle.  Not as much any other puzzle.  It has to be the Times.  Sunday is my favorite.

Questions from Lisa:

If you could cast yourself in any reality TV show, which would it be and why?

Amazing Race. I love to travel, and it depends as much on brains and strategy as it does on physical ability. It also includes a partner, so that one’s weaker points can be compensated by the other.  I’ve actually had ongoing conversations with 2 different friends about what we’d do on the show.

Crunchy or smooth peanut butter?

Crunchy.

Favorite place to vacation?

I don’t think I can answer that.  I’d love to go to Israel again.  Australia was amazing.  I’d love to go someplace new.  More than anything, I like to visit friends and family and spend time with them, wherever they may be.

What animal most describes your personality?

Tigger.

Favorite ice cream flavor?

Graeter’s Black Raspberry Chip

Cookie or cake?

That depends.  What kind?

Describe your ideal day.

I try to live every day to its potential–accomplishing what I can. Doing my best.  Trying my hardest. Spending at least some time with (or communicating with) people I care about.  Doing a little bit to help make the world better.  I’m not sure I have an ideal other than that.  It depends on my mood.

What is your favorite season?

Spring.  I love fall, too because of the beauty of the leaves turning.  But I hate when it starts getting dark early.  So spring wins.

What is your favorite thing about blogging?

I love being able to just write what I’m thinking.  I also love that I can reach people in a different way–and perhaps different people–and share teaching in a different medium.

How do you relax?

Good book.  Glass of wine.  Meaningful conversation.  People watching.  Hot bath.  Long walk.  Any and all of the above.

What did you have for breakfast?

A piece of pumpkin loaf and a cup of coffee (not the healthiest breakfast, I know.  But it was yummy!)

11 bloggers I’m nominating:

(this is hard, because I don’t want to repeat those that others have posted.  And I don’t follow that many blogs regularly)

http://gingeetrabbi.blogspot.com/

http://randomactsofreflection.com/

http://rabbiyair.blogspot.com/

http://www.davidamwilensky.com/

http://jazzrabbi.blogspot.com/

http://cbatampa.blogspot.com/

http://ramakblog.com/

http://sectsandcity.blogspot.com/

http://rabbipaul.blogspot.com/

http://rabbilnw.com/

http://sinaiandsynapses.org/blog-posts/

And 11 questions for them:

1. What makes you laugh?

2. What’s your earliest childhood memory or a favorite childhood memory?

3. What’s the first book you remember reading?

4. What’s the last book you read or what are you reading now?

5. When did you know that you wanted to be doing with your life what you’re doing now?

6. If you had $1,000,000 and you had to spend it ASAP, what would you do with the money?

7. If you could time travel, where/when would you go?

8. If you could go back and give 13-year-old you some advice, what would you tell yourself?

9. Pizza: New York or Chicago?

10. Ocean or lake?

11. Describe the best meal you’ve had (or a favorite).

Enjoy.  Hope some of my nominees play along!! And that y’all enjoyed my ramblings.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

