I’m a few days behind on BlogExodus, and I’ll eventually go back and do the ones I missed while I was on vacation.  I gave myself permission to miss them, though.  And I had a post on My Jewish Learning’s Canteen on Day 3, on which I was not ENSLAVED by the topic, but wrote about the 36 Rabbis shave and how it is connected to camp. On Day 4, I did an Exodusgram here on being, or becoming, FREE.  So I just need to make up 5 and 6 (prepare and clean).  I’ll get there.  And I’ll try to stay caught up as Nisan continues.

I have times in my life when it’s hard to recognize the blessings I have.  When I get caught up in negativity–caught up in life–and the wonderful things I have I overlook.  But when I stop to think, I really have a lot to be thankful for.  A lot of blessings.  Here are a few:

  • Friends
  • Family
  • Friends who have become family
  • Family who have become friends
  • The ability to choose to shave my head
  • The ability to use my life to take action and make a difference
  • Creativity
  • Laughter
  • Hugs (giving and receiving)
  • The opportunity to inspire others
  • Getting someone else to an a-ha moment
  • Smiles
  • Creativity
  • Relaxation
  • The blooming buds of spring
  • Pushing boundaries
  • Reading a good book
  • Enjoying a good story
  • Finding wisdom
  • Seeking intelligence
  • Enough food that I can eat the things I enjoy sometimes
  • The ability to make healthy choices about what I eat
  • Chocolate
  • The enjoyment of sometimes making, and fully enjoying, the less healthy choice
  • Accepting myself
  • Knowing that those that matter in my life accept me
  • Having people I know can make me feel better when I need it
  • Having people I know won’t try to make me feel better when I’m not ready yet
  • Tears
  • Bravery
  • A simple flower
  • Listening
  • Being heard
  • Discovery
  • Memories
  • Creating new memories
  • Beauty in the world
  • Beauty in myself
  • Pleasure
  • Calm
  • The chance to consider how blessed I am

There’s more, of course.  Perhaps if I take more moments each day for gratitude, I can better realize just how blessed I really am.  And how much I can offer blessing to others.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi, with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

