Anyone reading this probably knows (unless my blog goes suddenly and unexpectedly viral) that I shaved my head last week as one of the 36 Rabbis Who Shave for the Brave project, through the St Baldrick’s Foundation.

Image

I am moved and proud and astounded that together, the 70-something of us (we are not called 36 rabbis who are good at math for a reason) have raised well over $600,000 in just under 5 months.  I find it hard to believe that I’ve individually raised $12,432.  And those numbers are still growing.

But here’s what’s really amazing.  If I look at my own donations, I’ve had 228 people help me get to each of my goals. That’s a lot of people who are helping me in this fight.  But looking more closely, 3/4 of those people gave donations of $50 or less, adding up to about 40% of the money I’ve raised.  About 1/3 of my donors gave $20 or less–a whole lot of people giving $20, or $18, or $10, or $5, or even some spare change–adding up to $1000.

That’s a whole lot of people helping in small, yet meaningful ways.  I love knowing that really, truly, every little bit helps.  And adds up in huge ways.

When we really look at the math.  When we really count.  We see that numbers add up to a whole lot more than their size.  And that every little bit counts a whole lot.

By the way, if you haven’t given, or if you want to make another donation and help us out more, please donate here http://www.stbaldricks.org/participants/rabbiisa or on the pages of any of my colleagues. Thanks!

 

 

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

