I’m not ready.  I’m just not.  My mind is not even close to approaching the High Holy Days.  Elul came too early this year–and the holidays aren’t even early! And yet, here it is.  So I’m acting like I’m ready.

I’m thinking about sermons and services.  I’m thinking about myself and my life.  I’m blogging Elul. And even if I feel like I’m just going through the motions, at least I’m going through them.

And maybe that will help me.  The more I act as if I’m ready, the closer I’ll be to being ready.

So it is with life.  Sometimes we need to act in a way that shows that we’re already living out the goals that we want to accomplish, but haven’t yet achieved.  Sometimes we we need to practice doing something before we really feel like the task has meaning or that we’re ready to do it.  Sometimes, we never get there and just keep acting…other times, we eventually catch up with ourselves and we don’t have to act any more…but more often than not, it’s by acting that we are able to get there.  By pretending to be confident, we gain confidence–by acting like we’re ready, we become ready.

Shakespeare wrote (Macbeth Act 5, Scene 5), “Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player, That struts and frets his hour upon the stage, And then is heard no more.” In his final soliloquy, Macbeth addresses what he sees as the futility of life.  What Macbeth fails to realize is that the actor is heard more. Because, having acted, he no longer need strut and fret. Having acted, he’s become ready.  Perhaps his acting has even inspired others.  And he can make real what was once pretended.

Or, to quote The Muppets, “Life’s like a movie. Write your own ending. Keep believing. Keep pretending. We’ve done just what we set out to do. Thanks to the lovers, the dreamers, and you.”  

By acting in our own life, we create the life that we want and the world that we dream.

What is #BlogElul? (And yes, I’m already a day behind–but I know what I was going to post for day 1 and will post it.)

See more on Ima on (and off) the Bima, excerpted here:

The Jewish month of Elul, which precedes the High Holy Days, is traditionally a time of renewal and reflection. It offers a chance for spiritual preparation for the Days of Awe. It is traditional to begin one’s preparation for the High Holy Days during this month with the Selichot, the prayers of forgiveness. We look to begin the year with a clean slate, starting anew, refreshed. All month, along with others, I’ll be blogging a thought or two for each day to help with the month of preparation… I will be blogging here, and sharing #Elulgram photos on the same themes at imabima.tumblr.com. Follow me on twitter @imabima for all the #BlogElul posts, not only mine but others’ as well! Read more about #BlogElul here.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi, with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

2 responses »

  1. Daya Solomon says:

    This was great. I could relate and felt very inspired after reading it. Thank you!

  2. rabbiisa says:

    Thanks so much! I’m glad you found meaning in it.

Leave a Reply

