Every now and then

I have a moment

Just going about my day to day life

Suddenly realizing how glorious life is

Today, it was while at a Bat Mitzvah rehearsal with a lovely young woman

Listening to her practice leading the service, as I do with so many young people

One of those moments where it all felt kind of rote to me

(not because of her skills, she was doing beautifully, but because of my monotony feeling mood)

And then I looked up

And saw the light shining through the stained class into the sanctuary

And suddenly realized the magnificence of the space I was in

And how beautiful the moment was

And how amazing an opportunity it was to be with this young woman as she prepared for such a big moment in her life

And how lucky I am to be in this position

To appreciate such beauty

The beauty of sacred moments

The beauty of sacred space

The beauty of life.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi, with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

2 responses »

  1. Debbie says:

    Beautiful

    Debbie

    Sent from my iPhone Debbie Greenblatt

    >

Leave a Reply

