We all hide.  We show some aspects of ourselves to the world, but we take others and we hold them close, hidden to the world at large…some aspects hidden even to those with whom we are close.

I go through life assume that I only see about 1/8 of everyone I meet–one slice of who they are.  That’s what, I think, most of us show to the world.  As I get to now people, I get more slices, and I share more of my own.  We all hide and share aspects of who we really are in different ways within different relationships.

As we get to know people more, we see more of their slices–we share more of ours.

But I also assume that I really only know 7/8 of most people.  I think most of us keep that one slice to ourselves, even with some of those with whom we are closest.  Not wanting to share it.  Wanting to keep it private.  For myriad reasons.

Having parts of ourselves that are private and hidden isn’t a bad thing.  It’s being human.  But we also need to be ware that we don’t keep too much private.  That we share what is appropriate, and don’t bury ourselves away from the world because of whatever reasons we are hesitant to share.  Sharing forges relationships.

And yet, it’s ok to have some secrets, I think.  It all comes back to balance.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi, with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

2 responses »

  1. drew chatterton says:

    My growing up period in my family of origin was all about hiding feelings and thoughts that were not safe to share As an adult I have spent a lot of time in therapy groups and in therapy.learning how to reveal and to be present myself as a whole human being – its a work in continual progress

  2. Barbara says:

    Always an interesting and pertinent message from you – enjoyed reading your blog very much because of its truth. Love you very much. Shabbat shalom from Winchester.

    Sent from BZ’s iPhone

Leave a Reply

