It’s a new year.  I suppose I could have resolutions or huge accomplishments I want to see this year, but none of that rings true.  I don’t make a big deal out of the secular new year.  While there have been years in which I have taken part of huge celebrations (Times Square and, more memorably, Sydney, Australia), my favorite new years eves have been those spent with dear ones.  Heck, even the big celebrations were most memorable because of those with whom I spent them.

That said, there’s something about the year switching from one year to another that makes me pause and consider.  It’s not quite like the cheshbon hanefesh that I do around Rosh Hashanah (the Jewish New Year, for those new to the blog or to Judaism).  That’s a whole different category.  For me, there’s something about the year of regular time going from one to another than makes me think in a more general, perhaps more surface-centered way, about the year that was and the year to come.

And that comes with goals.  Because, for me, I can’t think of stepping forward without thinking of what I’m stepping towards.  And I’m in a really good place right now–and I plan to continue to step forward towards more positives.

And, really, that’s my goal.  To be more positive.  I know bad things will happen.  I realize that crap is a part of life.  But I also realize, I firmly believe, that what we make of that crap is a vital aspect of how we choose to live.  That’s not to say we shouldn’t be sad.  It’s not to say we shouldn’t have bad days.  Those are part of life–emotions are normal and even negative emotions are good to feel.  Ignoring them, suppressing them, only leads to them seeping out in ways that aren’t good for anyone.  But, in the long run, we can’t let the bad days take over our lives.  And, more importantly, we can’t let a bad attitude take an unimportant instant and make it a factor in controlling us.

We are the masters of our own destinies.  That’s not to say we control everything that happens–we don’t.  We can’t.  But we do control our attitudes.  We do control how we respond to others, to life, and even to ourselves.

I determine to be more positive this year.  To look at the good in life, even when it is really hard to see.  To pause and breathe when something frustrates me, so that I can move past it and not let it ruin my day.  To smile at myself and remind myself how many good things I have in my life.  To know, every day, what a blessing it is to be alive in this world–and to know that I can work to make it even better.

Also, I hope to write more.  That’s not a promise. That’s not a resolution.  It is a hope–but maybe having willed it, it will be no dream.

 

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

4 responses »

  1. Bari Nan says:

    Thanks for writing, tonight. I’m totally digging your take on this moment.

  2. kathi says:

    Aw, I have missed your posts! Thanks for sharing–excellent as always!

Leave a Reply

