Belief is a funny thing.  For some it comes easily–for others (myself included) it is a lot more challenging.  It’s hard to take a leap of faith and just believe in something.  To have a sense of knowing something that cannot be proven.

In some ways, this is most challenging when it comes to believing in myself.  Especially at times like this, sitting at the cusp of the future, and hoping for success.

Sometimes I need to remind myself that I do believe.  Sometimes, I look to others to remind me.  Other times, if i say it out loud, it helps me manifest the idea:

I believe that the first day of school will be a success (along with the rest of the year).

I believe that everything will be in place when it needs to be.

I believe in all the changes that we are making and that, while there will be bumps, that we are making the right changes.

I believe that the High Holy Days will be successful, personally and professionally.

enginetopofmountain1954_custom-b15bf10eec2be37e60c87cc064b5a63f864acc83-s900-c85

I think prayer is a lot like that, also.  If we say these ideas out loud, they can remind us of the world we believe in.  I believe there can be a world of peace and justice.  I believe that the hungry can be fed. I believe in a world that is repaired.

And then, just like in life, we do all that we can to create that reality.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

