Is it that time, already? The time when we’ve reached the month of Nisan, and my annual 2 weeks of blogging in preparation for the start of Pesach begins has arrived.  And so, I launch myself into the process.  Not just the process of going through the haggadah and reflecting, but the process of getting ready for the holiday.  Thblogexodus2b5777anks to Rabbi Phyllis Sommer, Blogging Exodus has become part of my annual ritual.  Partly because it is so easy to get caught up in the logistics of planning, that it’s nice to have some time to mentally prepare, as well.

And it’s a good reminder, that even if I’m already up to my eyeballs in seder prep, there is more to this holiday than Matzah Ball Soup. Although the soup is also important.

But what makes the soup important is the memory attached to its flavor, which ties into the rest of the holiday, as well.  Pesach is a holiday about experience–and creating new experiences to remind us of the old ones.  Of creating and recreating a seder each year which is relevant to us today, as well as evocative of the past.

And so, here I am, launching myself into the season.  Getting ready the recipes and the readings.  And getting myself ready along the way.  Ready to launch myself into the past–and into the future, as well.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi, with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

