Behind on Blogging…and so many other things.  But I got my newest addition done to Ham for Seder!!!

Also, a HUGE shout out to the Hamilton Haggadah!! Taking the little I’ve done here, they took the idea up a notch and then some–coming up with a whole seder full of of songs last year, and this year an entire haggadah.  Visit the site, download the haggadah–it’s free, but you can also (and I encourage you to) make a donation to HIAS, because they are doing such important work to help refugees–a cause at the heart of the message of Pesach.

So, here’s my newest: The Sandwich We’re Eating (sort of silly, but also fun).

S: Ah, Mister Hillel

H: Mister Shammai, sir

S: Did’ya hear the news about good old Moshe Rabbeinu

H: No

S: You know Pharaoh Street

H: Yeah

S: They renamed it after him, the Moses legacy is secure

H: Sure

S: And all he had to do was die

H: That’s a lot less work

S: We oughta give it a try

H: Ha

S: Now how’re you gonna get your menorah lighting through

H: I guess I’m gonna fin’ly have to listen to you

S: Really

H: Talk less, smile more

S: Ha

H: Do whatever it takes to get my plan in the Talmud’s core

S: Maimonides and others will be merciless

H: Well, hate the comment, love the commentator

S: Hillel

H: I’m sorry Sham, I’ve gotta go

S: But

H: Discussions are happening over seder

Two Rabbinic sages argued pages and then came into a room

Diametric’ly opposed, foes

They debate without compromise, on all sorts of topics

yet their friendship never closed

Bros

One rabbi emerged with unprecedented arguments recorded

Though the systems were shaped how the other wants

The other also got a bite on record

And that’s the pièce de résistance

Hillel, he made

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

Hillel, he made

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

No one really knows if the Chrain’s homemade

How the matzah is laid

If the charoset is flayed

We just assume that we’re feeding

what Hillel made, it’s

The sandwich we’re eating.

Hillel claims

Numbers says we should eat it on matzah and maror

Talking ‘bout the lamb for the rich and for the poor

Hillel claims

so I bound it all

Into one sandwich

And basic’ly nommed it just like in days of yore

Hillel claims

I figured out the recipe and thought

I should write all this down, let me sit down at my escritoire.

Hillel claims

Well, I arranged the matzah

I arranged the matzah, the maror, the paschal

But

that wasn’t quite like

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

Hillel, he made

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

No one really knows how lamb

is charoses

The pesach that was sacrificed

Before we learned to bless

We just know it was fleeting

But Hillel he made

The sandwich we’re eating

Meanwhile

Jews are all grappling with the fact that not ev’ry tradition can be the same with out the Temple

Meanwhile

Rabbis are fighting over how to set the prayers

It isn’t pretty

Then Hillel approaches with a seder and invite

The sanhedrin responds with rabbinic insight

Maybe we can replace one tradition with another and make some mortar with some sweeteners, and teach others

Oh ho

A quid pro quo

I suppose

Wouldn’t you like to have a symbol closer to those

Actually, I would

Well, I propose the Charoset

And you’ll provide the maror?

Well, we’ll add the matzah!

Huzzah!

Yah!

Hillel, he made

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

Hillel, he made

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

My God

To God we pray

But we never really know what words to say

Click-boom when we’re meeting

And then Hillel he made the sandwich we’re eating

Rabbi Hillel Sanhedrin:

What did you say to them to get them to make us this sandwich forever

Rabbi Hillel Sanhedrin:

Did Shammai even know about the endeavor

Was there rabbinic pressure whatsoever?

Rabbi Hillel Sanhedrin:

Or did you know, even then, it doesn’t matter

What you put with the maror

‘Cause it’ll have the same crunch.

The symbol’s what’s more important.

You got more than you gave

And we wanted what we got

When you get to taste in the tale, you remember the tale

But you don’t get a win unless you retell the tale

Oh, you get love for it, you get hate for it

You get nothing if you

Wait for it, wait for it, wait

God help and forgive us

We need to tell

a tale that’s gonna

Outlive us

What do you want, Jews

What do you want, Jews

If your sandwich is crumbling

then how do traditions hold up?

I

Wanna eat up

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

I

Wanna eat up

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

I

Wanna eat up

The sandwich we’re eating

I

I wanna eat up

Oh

Oh

I wanna eat up

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

The sandwich we’re eating

The art of the compromise

Hold your nose and close your eyes

We want our leaders to change today

But we also need a say in what we see go away

We dream of a brand new start

But we dream in the dark for the most part

To dark brings a light that we’re seeding

I’ve got to eat up

The sand (which we’re eating)

I’ve got to eat up (the sandwich we’re eating)

I’ve got to eat up (the sandwich we’re eating)

Oh, I’ve got to eat up

The sandwich we’re eating

I’ve got to eat, I’ve gotta eat, I’ve gotta eat

In the sand

Boom Crunch

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

