I took of Friday night for Shabbat, so I’m catching up with a double BlogElul post.  And I as I mentally prepare for our opening faculty meeting tomorrow, preparation and choice are definitely on my mind, and as I see the on adjacent days of Elul themes, it strikes me as how connected they are.

In order to prepare, we must make choices.  AND, when we make a choice, we must prepare for that choice to become a reality, or for the consequences of that choice.

As a rabbi/educator, that is apparent this time of year: to prepare, I must make choices about curriculum, about the makeup of the faculty, about what books to use (which, for me, is only Hebrew books–our Judaics classes have no books), about where to put each class, about where to put each student.  And, based on many choices, I must prepare: teaching the teachers how to facilitate the curricula, working with veteran teachers and getting new teachers ready, making sure that the teachers have plenty of tools on hand to create learning experiences, making sure all of the classrooms are ready (thanks to the professionals and volunteers making that happen!), and reshuffling students when I realize someone needs to be moved.  And, as a rabbi starting to think about the High Holy Days, all of that is equally true.

I hope that tomorrow, I’m able to help the faculty navigate this same process of preparation and choice, as they get themselves and their classrooms ready to welcome new students. I hope that together, we’re able to continually navigate that process as neither preparation nor choice are one time occurrences.

How do you get ready?

How do you make choices?

How do the 2 come together for you?

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

Leave a Reply

