There’s a sort of mantra I have with some friends: Good enough is good enough.  Sometimes, we need to accept things for what they are.  They’ll never be perfect, and that’s ok.  At some point, we need to realize that they are good enough to fulfill their purpose.

But there are other instances when we need to look around and reject what we see around us and determine to fix it–to perform the sacred tasks of tikkun olam (repairing the world) and tikkun middot (repairing ourselves).

The question is: How do we know which to do when? When do we accept things the way they are and when do we keep working to make them better?

When do we step forth to do the work, even though we know we can never complete it (as we are taught in Pirkei Avot)? And how do we know when we’ve done all we can?

It’s a rough world out there–and the work is certainly not done.  I can accept that I need to keep working on it.  And I can accept that I need to keep working on myself.

I hope I can accept, and learn to accept, when small pieces of my life, and even of the world around me, are good enough–at least good enough for now.

About rabbiisa

I'm a Reform Rabbi with a passion for education! I'm also a pop culture fan, political junkie, and NY Times crossword puzzle addict. I am INTP, a proud member of Red Sox Nation, and a fan of the Oxford Comma.

One response »

  1. I like the addition of ‘for now’ to the good enough. It speaks to prioritizing, and allowing yourself to throw all your energy into the important things, knowing that you have not abandoned the other things. It may also speak to the mitzvah of allowing others to do a mitzvah. While we may feel called to fix everything, there are times when others are also called – and may be better suited – to the call. And we can allow them to perform that work, while we attend to other pieces that need to be fixed.

Leave a Reply

